
Certified Escort Policy for Superload Moves 

PA Consolidated Statutes Title 75 § 3108 defines a Certified Escort Vehicle as “A vehicle that is operated to 
escort a super load on a highway of this Commonwealth.”  This statute also establishes that the driver of a 
certified escort vehicle that is being operated to escort a super load must be certified and licensed by the 
department and wear attire that complies with 67 Pa. Code § 101.3(5) (relating to minimum attire).  The 
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) allows super loads to utilize Certified Escort Vehicles 
(CEVs) in lieu of Pennsylvania State Police (PSP) escorts as established in the following Policy. 

1) Requirements for Certification
a. Must be at least 21 years old
b. Must have at least 3 years’ experience escorting oversized/overweight loads
c. Must have a valid Commonwealth of Pennsylvania driver license or valid license in the

state or jurisdiction in which you reside
d. Complete a minimum 8-hours of classroom training from the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

accredited programi.
i. includes successful passing of the course written exam

ii. An accredited program may include another state’s Escort Certification class
1. Accepted classes - A Pennsylvania Certification class is not required if

Certification was obtained in the following states:
a. Virginia (804) 497-7135
b. Georgia (404) 635-8176
c. North Carolina (888) 221-8166
d. Colorado/Utah (RSA Network) (801) 838-8999
e. Florida (352) 392-2371
f. Washington (425) 817-3868

e. Possesses documentation of completion of a defensive driving course approved by the National
Safety Council or an equivalent course.

i. Curriculum available http://www.nsc.org/learn/Safety-Training/Pages/driver-safety-
online-training.aspx

f. Possesses documentation of completion of Flagger Training Course as outlined in PennDOT
Publication 408 Section 901.3(y))

i. Curriculum available through PennDOT, or training courses available through ATSSA:
http://www.atssa.com/TrainingCertification/FlaggerInformation.aspx, PennDOT’s
Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP)
(https://www.dot7.state.pa.us/LTAP/default.aspx), or The Associated Pennsylvania
Constructors (APC) (http://www.paconstructors.org/).

g. Apply for Certification –
i. Email the following documents to the PennDOT Central Permit Office inbox at: RA-

pdCenPermitOfc@pa.gov:
1. Resume’ that includes the applicants full name, date of birth, current employer

and proof of Escort experience
2. Proof of passing a Certified escort class in PA or reciprocal state
3. Proof of completion of a defensive driving class
4. Proof of completion of the Flagger training course

ii. Satisfactory applicants will be issued a Certification Card.
1. CEV’s are responsible for obtaining their own vehicle emblem.

a. An emblem template is available at http://www.penndot.gov/Doing-
Business/Permits/HaulingInformation/Pages/default.aspx

2) Required vehicle – A vehicle operating as a Certified Escort Vehicle must meet these criteria:
a. Be a FHWA Class 2 or 3 vehicle.

b. Display an identification emblem approved by the Department.

i. See template at http://www.penndot.gov/Doing-
Business/Permits/HaulingInformation/Pages/default.aspx
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c. Be equipped with warning lights and signs as established in Departmental Regulationii

d. The driver must have visibility in all directions
e. No towing allowed
f. Possess the following equipment (consistent with CFR Title 49, Section 393.95 regarding

Emergency Equipment and the MUTCD where applicable)
i. Height pole indicator (when load exceeds 14’6”high)iii

ii. Radio (two-way with transport driver) (1 per unit) iv

iii. Cellular telephone
iv. Stop/Slow paddlev

v. Hardhat meeting ANSI Type II requirements
vi. Vest or High visibility clothing meeting ANSI Class 2 or 3 safety garment

vii. 3 Channelizing devices  or  cones
viii. Red-burning flares, glow sticks or equivalent illumination device

ix. Fire extinguisher
x. Traffic Wand Flashlight

xi. First aid kit
xii. Spare tire, jack and lug wrench

xiii. Escort shall not possess equipment that would simulate law enforcement personnel
(included but not limited to Red or Blue lights, Badges on uniforms)

3) Conditions when a CEV may be allowed to escort a superload.
a. Size and location

i. Loads up to 18’wide on highways having at least two lanes in one direction
ii. Loads up to 260’ long on highways having at least two lanes in one direction

iii. Loads that move with the established traffic pattern.
4) Conditions when a  PSP escort is required to escort superloads

a. When the load exceeds the conditions established in Section 3
b. When the load moves against established traffic patterns
c. PSP will be notified at least 24 hours’ before initial movement will begin.
d. The Department, in consultation with PSP shall determine whether a PSP escort is necessary.

5) Required Pre-trip activities (See Pilot Car Escort Training Manual for Details)
a. Review permit
b. No PSP Pre-trip inspection is required for CEVO escorted loads
c. CEVO's Conduct Pre-trip inspection

i. Ensure load meets conditions of the permit (excluding weight) includes size axle spacings
ii. Ensure load meets conditions of the Departmental Regulation Title 67 Section 179

iii. Ensure Operators Daily Report as required by § 396.11: Driver vehicle inspection
report(s) is satisfactorily completed

iv. Ensure driver is properly licensed to haul superloads.
d. Comply with all terms, conditions, requirements and/or regulations set forth by the Commonwealth 

of Pennsylvania and the Central Permit Office. Including, but not limited to:
i. Title 75 Vehicle Code

ii. Title 67 – Pennsylvania Code
iii. PennDOT Hauling Permit Policies

6) Fees
a. Any and all fees associated with certified escort vehicle(s) and driver(s) are the sole responsibility of 

the permittee. Such services are either directly provided by the permittee or shall be contracted for 
by the permittee and shall meet the insurance requirements of Title 67 Chapter 179.7. 

i The Pennsylvania accredited program is modeled after the Pilot Car Escort Training Manual developed by FHWA, 
CVSA and SCRA.FHWA-HOP-04-028 October 2004 
ii Title 67 179.10(14) &(15) 
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iii Title 67 Chapter  
iv Title 67 179.10(13)(ii)(A) 
v Pub 408 
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